Control Your Recycle Bin

Just to get all of us on the same page, remember that when you delete a file from your computer (like a photo or Word document for example), the file does not leave the computer, it gets moved to the Recycle Bin. If you want to free up the space used by the file, you must delete it from the recycle bin.

However, did you know that you can control how much space can be used by the recycle bin, stop the “are you sure” prompt, or completely bypass the recycle bin? Read on and learn…

To gain control of these functions, simply right click on the recycle bin and click properties.

  • A slider bar allows you to set the percentage of hard drive space you want to allocate to the recycle bin. Usually 10% should be a maximum.
  • Two check boxes give you control over whether or not to use the recycle bin at all or shut off the deletion confirmation screen.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email